One Ingredient Ice Cream

I have a reputation in my family for having an insatiable sweet tooth.  If there is any candy within arms reach I will gobble it up without any hesitation.  I just cannot control myself. I tell my husband to hide any candy that he buys because if I find it, I will eat it ALL. Every once and a while he will buy one of those giant tubs of cookie dough ice cream. My most favorite flavor. Can you guess who the one is who makes it magically disappear in  a matter of days? Ya, that would be me.

When I found this ice cream recipe on Apartment Therapy’s food blog The Kitchn I knew that I immediately needed to try it. I guess technically it’s not ice cream at all. This frozen dessert is made from just one ingredient- bananas. Dessert that is actually good for you!  There is no dairy, gluten or added sugar so it’s great if you are  cooking for a group with different food requirements or allergies or if your like me looking for a way to satisfy your sweet cravings.

You will need 2 bananas per person. For the best taste make sure they are just a little overripe. Peel them and cut into slices and place on a sheet or pan that will fit in your freezer. Freeze for at least 2 hours. Plop the slices into your food processor and blend. In just a few minutes the banana will blend into creamy ice cream!

You can add  all sorts of toppings. In mine I topped it with cinnamon and ground almond left over from making homemade almond milk. You could also add cocoa, coconut or other toppings. I’m thinking you could also try this out with other fruits and make fruity homemade sorbet. Ever tried making your own ice cream this way? How did it turn out?

This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One Ingredient Ice Cream

  1. ~mc~ says:

    Yes, every year I make blackberry sorbet … blend fresh blackberries (straight off the bush) with a can of frozen lemonade … yummy.

    I will try this … sounds delish 🙂

    Like

  2. I saw this the other day and would love to try it! Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  3. We do this, too! Very tasty.

    Like

  4. mmmm blackberry sorbet sounds so good. We have tons of blackberries here. Def trying that

    Like

  5. Kanelstrand says:

    Oh my! I have exactly the number of bananas for my family! Off to try this recipe out! I have a feeling there will be raisins and chocolate chips added 🙂

    Like

  6. Sarah says:

    Frozen bananas are the best! I add them to my smoothies.

    Like

  7. My boyfriend made this a few days ago. We were so excited before making it. We kept talking about “banana treat” for days before we got the ingredient (lol) to make it.

    Yeah…it helps if you actually like bananas. I really don't so I didn't care too much for this. It deceived me! I knew it was bananas, but it looked so much like vanilla that I tricked my mind into expecting that taste. 😦 My boyfriend seemed to like it, though.

    Like

  8. haha too funny. Yes it would probably be a good idea to only make this if you like bananas. It is so strange though when your brain is expecting one taste but it's actually something else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

