Easy Homemade Hummus

Have you ever learned how to cook something new and wonder: A) Why it took you so long to learn how to make it?  and B) How you lived without it for so long?
Once I learned how to make hummus I definitely felt that way. I’ve always enjoyed heaping helpings of hummus at parties and social events but I thought it was too difficult to make myself. Boy was I wrong. It’s SO easy. In fact I think I like the hummus I make myself better that the stuff I used to buy at the store. Want to learn how to make hummus? Keep on reading, I’ve got the super simple instructions for you below.


Ingredients: 

1 can chickpeas aka garbanzo beans
1 small lemon
3 cloves crushed garlic
1/4 cup of olive oil
Salt and pepper
2 tablespoons of tahini
Herbs and other spices of you choice (optional) 

Tahini is a paste made of roasted sesame seeds. It’s similar to peanut butter except it tastes quite different. Tahini is low in sodium and cholesterol and high in thiamin, phosphorus, copper and manganese. Tahini can be difficult to find at the grocery store. If you can’t find it where you normally shop try Whole Foods or other specialty grocery stores. Tahini is a popular ingredient in many Middle Eastern dishes so you can probably  find it at a Middle Eastern or Indian grocery store. If you can’t find it you can omit it and just make the hummus with the other ingredients.

Instructions:

Drain your beans and blend in your food processor. Add the other ingredients one by one until they are all blended into a fluffy paste. It’s that simple!  Serve in a small bowl and drizzle some extra olive oil on top if you like. You can dip veggies and crackers in the hummus, eat it with pita bread, or my favorite, use it as a spread instead of mayo on a sandwich.
I like my hummus with a lot of garlic and lemon juice. The great thing about this recipe is you can add whatever you like to it. You could add beans, different spices, roasted peppers, anything that tickles your fancy!
Do you like to make your own hummus? Share your recipes in the comments!

This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy Homemade Hummus

  1. Melody says:

    Delish! I will have to try it!

    Like

  2. Thanks! Let me know how it turns out if you try it!

    Like

  3. I add a can of white cannalini beans, roasted red peppers and green olives. I used to think it was hard to make, too. Easy Peasy.

    Like

  4. Mmmm roaster peppers and olives sound yummy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

