Up Cycled Bird Bath

Can you guess what I used to make my bird baths? Old light fixtures! We had these plain boring glass shades over the lights in our spare bedrooms that I took down and saved for a while until a project came up that I could use them for.

I drilled a hole into the old stumps and screwed down the glass with a washer in between to close the gap so the water wouldn’t pour out the bottom. Then I taped a little piece of duct tape over the screw so it would be more water proof.

Then I added some stones to the bottom of the glass and filled it up with water. Now I’m just waiting for some birds. How do you think it turned out?

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Up Cycled Bird Bath

  1. I'm a new follower! Love your blog and this is such a cute and thrifty bird bath idea! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Janet says:

    This is beyond awesome! You were so smart to save those until the perfect time.

    Like

  3. Cas says:

    Really awesome idea! I love how rustic it looks. Hope you get some birdies soon. 🙂

    Like

  4. Kanelstrand says:

    They look lovely and what a clever idea! I would love to see photos of the birds shamelessly perusing them :))

    Like

  5. ElfRenee says:

    That's an awesome idea!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

