Poppy Seed Saving

 A while back I shared some pictures of the wild California Poppies growing near the barn. I love California Poppies, their bright orange color always reminds of the ones we had growing in my moms garden when I was a kid.

Well as we settle into summer the poppies are slowly dying off and starting to seed. I’ve gathered some of the seeds so I can grow my own poppies in my yard next year.

When California Poppy seeds are ready to be harvested the pod will look like this:

They will practically fall out of the pod. The seeds will be tiny and black. Just like in your poppy seed muffin!

The great thing about California Poppies is that they actually thrive in poor soil conditions. That’s why you see them growing out of random cracks in the sidewalk and other unexpected places.
In fall or early spring sow the seeds under a thin layer of soil and let Mother Nature do her thing. In early summer you will be blessed with cheerful bright orange blossoms.

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Poppy Seed Saving

  1. Adrienne says:

    You make me want to live on a farm, and grow things! Le sigh….I'll just have to settle for our empty balcony
    xoxo
    Adrienne

    Like

  2. Hey you can grow things on your balcony! Even if it's just herbs in little pots!

    Like

  3. Cas says:

    They are beautiful! I keep telling myself I will make an attempt at growing SOMETHING…. and haven't done it yet. Next spring. *nods*

    Sea Marie

    Like

  4. Kala says:

    I love poppies too, they are gorgeous:)

    Like

  5. ElfRenee says:

    Wow, so beautiful!!

    Like

  6. weird amiga says:

    So vibrant…!
    Love the fact that, by saving the seeds, we can perpetuate “the same plant” year after year (for those of us who get really sad when our annual plants die…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

