The Humane Way to Deal with Moles

One of the most frustrating problems for gardeners is moles digging up your lawn and garden. There are plenty of products you can buy to get rid of moles but most are not humane. As much as I dislike mole holes in the grass I would much rather see the big mound of dirt than kill an innocent animal.  Here is a simple tip to help deter moles from digging up your lawn. If you have a cat take some of it’s used kitty litter and put it on top of the mole hole. The moles do not like the scent and will move over to your neighbors yard instead.

No cat?? Well there is something else you can do but it’s kinda gross. You can pee on the mole hole. This is  best done at night so you don’t get arrested for indecent exposure or in a jar and then you can pour it on the hole. Okay, sorry I know it’s totally gross but I did warn you.

So, do you have any tips for natural and humane pest and rodent control?

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Humane Way to Deal with Moles

  1. Cas says:

    Haha!! I have never heard of this… but a good tip. Now.. where to find a jar…. 😛 😛 — Sea Marie

    Like

  2. ElfRenee says:

    Yep, if you cut your hair, put it around the holes, or get some from a hairdresser…yeah that's gross too, though. lol

    Like

  3. Sher says:

    How funny about the peeing! I think I'll give this a try, but I'll use Pumpkin's used kitty litter. When you mentioned sending them to your neighbor's yard, that really appealed to me because one of my neighbors is down right evil!

    Like

  4. I never knew those tips would work! I will have to give my father in law a call in the morning. He has a family of moles tunneling under his front lawn, and you can't step anywhere without sinking a bit.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. @Elf Renee, good tip about the hair! I wonder if your hairdresser would think you are crazy asking for hair?!

    @Sher. Evil neighbors suck. Maybe you should just pee on their lawn in the middle of the night, lol

    @ Tiffany Good luck to your dad. Let me know how things go!

    Like

  6. Kanelstrand says:

    Clever solution, and it is eco-friendly! Though maybe not that much. I read somewhere that the evaporations of your urine add up to global warming so, sadly it is hard to be humane with moles LOL.

    Like

  7. Wow didn't know about the urine and global warming but I guess that does make sense. Maybe I will try the tip with the hair next time I get my hair trimmed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

