Growing Brussels Sprouts

Brussels sprouts are a vegetable that you either love or hate. I’ve never met anyone who was on  the fence with Brussels sprouts. If you are like me, your mouth waters at the thought of delicious sprouts roasted in olive oil sprinkled lightly with salt and pepper. If you are like my husband you think they taste like wet socks.
If you like Brussels sprouts you should know they are easy to grow. And fun too. And if you have the space you probably should. Today I’m going to share my tips for growing Brussels Sprouts.

Brussels sprouts are part of the brassica family like cabbage and broccoli. They taste best when grown in cooler weather. Like spinach, they can tolerate a slight  frost and even taste better when the weather gets a bit frosty. I live far north so my sprouts are doing fine in this summer heat (or lack thereof) in most of the country it’s too hot for sprouts to mature during the summer months.

 Sow seeds in late spring for a fall harvest and 12-14 weeks before the last frost for a spring harvest. Set your plants at least 2 feet apart. They can grow up to 3 feet tall and the leaves can get pretty gigantic so give them lots of room.

The sprouts grow off  the stem axils (where the leaves grow off of the stem) . They start off as tiny buds that will grow into the full sized sprouts you see at the grocery store. It takes about 3 months for the sprout to grow big enough.  Near the end of the growing season clip off  the top of plant where the new leaves grow  so the plant will convert all it’s energy to the growing sprouts.

When the sprouts are big enough you can cut them off or twist them off the stem.

I like to eat my Brussels sprouts roasted. I chop them in half and toss them in some olive oil, salt and pepper. Then I roast them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.

Mmm yummy! So what do you think, Brussels sprouts, tasty or totally gross?

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Growing Brussels Sprouts

  1. AsteropeBC says:

    I love brussels sprouts! Especially roasted with balsamic vinegar.

    Like

  2. Fawne says:

    I do love brussel sprouts! nom nom nom! Roasted with balsamic vinegar for me too!

    Like

  3. mmm, ok gotta try balsamic vinegar!!

    Like

  4. Cas says:

    Yum!! I looove brussel sprouts… but didn't at all when I was little. Sea Marie

    Like

  5. Brussel sprouts are yummm-mmmy! My husband agress with yours…wet socks! I'm planting pumpkins this fall…I may have to try some brussels too!

    Like

  6. ElfRenee says:

    They look so cool growing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

