Hay Bale Gardening Experiment



I’ve been writing about my straw bale garden this season and if you’ve been reading this blog for a while you’ll know I have been very pleased with my success with straw bale gardening. 

Big pumpkins vines growing out of the straw bale

I wanted to set up another straw bale garden but at $8 a bale I figured there had to be a cheaper way. I checked out Craiglist and hay bales were averaging about $4 a bale. The difference between straw and hay is that hay is used for food for animals and straw is used for bedding. Straw bales are recommended over hay for gardening because hay bales will supposedly sprout. Because I am cheap I figured I would take my chances. Then I remembered my sister in law had some old hay bales in the barn that her horses wouldn’t eat. They didn’t like the taste of the hay. She told me that I could have the bales for free. Free! The best price. I got my hay bales in position and started the first part of the prep. 
So, we will see… Straw bales vs. Hay bales, is one better than the other?

To be continued…

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hay Bale Gardening Experiment

  1. Cool. I hope I see updates.

    PS Your black screen bothers my eyes 🙂
    <><
    http://christiecottage.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. ElfRenee says:

    Good luck! They look so cool!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the feedback Christie. I'll change the background again!

    Like

  4. yuchatter says:

    This looks interesting. Im gonna try it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

