Mushroom Hunting

Last weekend we went foraging for wild mushrooms. Chanterelle’s to be exact. I had never been “mushrooming” before but my husbands parents have gotten into the hobby recently and invited us along on the adventure. I’ll be honest, I have heard many  horror stories of people accidentally poisoning themselves by eating mushrooms they thought were edible but turned out to be poisonous. Wild mushroom picking is something that is definitely out of my comfort zone but I guess it’s good to step out of your comfort zone sometimes. As long as you don’t get poisoned!

We headed up into the mountains and into state-owned forest where any mushrooms you may find are fair game. As long as no one beats you to the area and picks it clean.

We searched deep into the woods. Under logs, around trees. The pickin’s were slim…

And then finally we stumbled upon some bright orange Chanterelles!

Two distinguishing characteristics of Chanterelle’s besides the orange color are the thick stem and the ridges under the top that travel all the way down into the stem.

Not a bad haul for a first time mushroom hunt. I’m planning to sautee some of the mushrooms and make soup with the rest.
If you are thinking of doing some mushroom hunting, be careful. Make sure you know what your are doing or have someone with you who knows the difference between edible and non-edible mushrooms.
Have you ever going mushrooming before? What’s your favorite kind of mushroom?

This entry was posted in Found Objects, Gardening, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mushroom Hunting

  1. Cas says:

    Gorgeous photos! I have went mushrooming before for morels! Unfortunately it was late in the season and we only found a few but they were delicious. 🙂 I plan to go more next year! Sea Marie

    Like

  2. Kanelstrand says:

    Ah, you know about my mushroom obsession, don't you! I am not as lucky though, to have edible mushrooms around. And even if I had, I wouldn't pick anything anyway, because I don't have the knowledge. But my grandfather used to know mushrooms and regularly brought home delicious species.

    By the way, I know an amazingly good recipe with Chanterelles 🙂

    Like

  3. @Cas, I have never tried morels before. I'm excited to try different kinds of mushrooms. Even if they are just store bought!

    @Kanelstrand I'd love for you to share your recipe!

    Like

  4. ElfRenee says:

    That looks like so much fun! I love hiking in the woods! And the mushrooms are beautiful! I don't eat them though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

