Forcing Bulbs Indoors

The flowers in my garden may have stopped growing for the season but that doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy fresh blooms this winter.  I just have to get things growing indoors! I wrote a Guide to Bulb Planting a few weeks ago with tips on how to successfully plant your spring bulbs.  Did you know you can grow bulbs indoors too? Daffodils, hyacinths and tulips are all popular flowers to grow in pots indoors. Today I am going to show you how to plant Paperwhites. Paperwhites, like daffodils, are part of the Narcissus family  and they are great for growing indoors in the winter months.  Unlike bulbs such as tulips they do not need a chilling period in order to bloom.  They are super easy to grow so go buy yourself a pack of bulbs and lets get started!

Supplies

Pack of Paperwhite bulbs
Bowl or dish
Soil or pebbles

Directions

  • Paperwhites can grow in a variety of growing mediums. I used soil because I had some extra potting soil lying around but you could use rocks, marbles, beads or anything non metal.

  • Place the bulbs in the dish and fill it up with the growing medium of your choice. Make sure 1/2 to 3/4 of the bulb is exposed.

  • Place in a sunny spot and water regularly. Make sure the dish does not stay too wet or the bulbs may rot

  • Once the bulbs start to bloom (3-4 weeks)  move it away from the sunlight so the flowers will last longer.

The flowers will last one or two weeks but unlike the bulbs that are growing outside in your garden these pretty white flowers will only last one season

This entry was posted in DIY and Crafts, Gardening, Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Forcing Bulbs Indoors

  1. Kanelstrand says:

    Oh, I am so loving your creative force nowadays! I have never considered doing this but my God, how I want to try!

    Like

  2. You should! It's fun!

    Like

  3. ElfRenee says:

    This is great, I want to try it too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

