Throw Out 50 Things

I’ve got the day off work today due to bad weather. You may have heard of the Snowmageddon weather crisis that was doomed to hit Seattle this week. We are north of Seattle but are still feeling the effects of the snow storm. The thing about living in the Pacific Northwest is that since we never get snow here when there is even a tiny bit that falls we are not equipped to deal with it. We have about 8 inches of snow outside at the moment and it seems the worst of the storm has past now we just need to wait for it to melt. I have had my husband drive me to and from work this week because I’m too nervous to drive myself. The wind blowing the snow off of the fields made for white out conditions along much of the drive.  I happen to be home from work today not because it is unsafe for the employees to get to work (even though it definitely is) but because there are NO customers coming in. Basically we are over-staffed and since someone needs to stay home, I’d like to have an extra day off and avoid the icy roads.

Doesn’t this look like fun to drive in?

I plan to take full advantage of this extra day off. There is laundry to be done, dishes to clean, and piles of junk that need to be organized.  The trouble for me is always finding the motivation to get started. Once I am in full on cleaning mode I can’t be stopped but when you are sitting in a comfy chair watching TV with a blanket it’s hard to get motivated to get up and tidy the house. One trick I learned was to set the oven timer for 10 minutes and clean as much as you can before the alarm goes off. Usually that’s enough to get me into the cleaning mood and I will continue past the 10 minutes. If it doesn’t work then fine, at least I spent 10 minutes cleaning something.  I learned another trick this week. It’s called: Throw Out 50 Things.  I found it through one of my favorite blogs, The Art of Doing Stuff.  who found it via Stylelist Home.

So here is how it works, just go around and throw out 50 things. It’s not as hard as you think it is. Actually I could probably go around my house and throw out 50 000 things (we have a lot of crap) When you start picking things up and chucking them you wonder why you ever kept them in the first place.

  • Old pens that have the ink dried out? Chuck ’em.
  • Chargers for electronics you no longer own? Chuck ’em
  • One left slipper that lost it’s mate when the dog decided it was a chew toy? Chuck it! 

 See, it’s easy!  And once you start you’ll realize how much random junk there is lying around.
I started with my old cabinet in the dining room. I end up storing a lot of junk in the top drawer.
Here is the before:

Ahhhhhhh!

And then after I tossed 50 things (and moved a bunch of stuff to their proper homes elsewhere in the house)

Better, right?
Happy Chucking!!

This entry was posted in Home. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Throw Out 50 Things

  1. ElfRenee says:

    I love snow days!

    Like

  2. Haha! That sounds so cool. I must admit that I often go on such raids of throwing x number of things out and now I really, really cannot find 50! See? Simplification at its best! By the way, have you checked out my Simple Living Pledge and the coming challenge? http://blog.kanelstrand.com/p/take-simple-living-pledge.html

    Like

  3. AsteropeBC says:

    I like the Throw Out 50 Things idea – you could make it into a fun game.

    Like

Leave a Reply

