Adrienne Audrey: Legal Alien

I took this photo last week. American flag made out of Budweiser cases. Only at Walmart, only in America.

 And….I’m back! Sorry for the unannounced extended silence. I’ve been feeling majorly burned out and haven’t had much time for blogging. Things will return to normal for me in August and I have a TON of projects and things I’d can’t wait to share with you. I just need more time (don’t we all?)

This week has been busy. I had to make a trip out to Tukwila Washington with my husband  to go for an interview at the United States Center for Immigration Services at the Department of Homeland Security. As many of you know I am Canadian. I moved to Washington from British Columbia almost 3 years ago and have been going through the whole super fun process of getting my green card and will eventually be getting US citizenship. For those of you not familiar with the process of getting a US green card- let me tell you, it’s nothing like the movie The Proposal with Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds. Sadly the real life version is not so much fun. There is no Betty White and I don’t get to marry Ryan Reynolds, although I think my husband is pretty darn hot so no complaints there.

  It’s extremely difficult to legally live and work in the United States if you are from a foreign country. Don’t get me wrong, I completely understand why there are so many hoops to jump though and why things are the way they are but I have been going through the process for 4 years now and I will be the first to tell you: It sucks. Illegal and legal immigration in the USA is definitely a controversial topic and as a legal alien myself (yes , I am an actual alien and I even have an alien number from the government to prove it!)  I have my personal opinions about it all but I won’t go into it here. This is a DIY blog so I like to keep things light and fun.

Anyways… Since Tukwila is two hours south of our house we decided to drive over the night before and stay in a cheap hotel. Our interview was at 8:30 am and traffic in and around Seattle can be a nightmare.  We got to the Travelodge at about 11:30pm and made a quick stop at Subway for a midnight snack. Unfortunately my delicious foot long cold cut combo gave me food poisoning and I spent the majority of the night wishing for my death.  Somehow I managed to fall asleep even though I had horrible body shakes and the worst abdominal pain I can remember in a long time. By morning I felt a little better which was good because no one wants to be running to the bathroom in the middle of your interview with an immigration officer.

The interview went well even though I’m pretty sure the lady interviewing us thought we were completely nuts. She asked a lot of questions about our house and living situation and by the time we starting explaining how our pot bellied pigs like to wander into the house I couldn’t tell if she was amused or horrified. Either way my 10 year green card was approved (yay!) and I can apply for citizenship as early as December. Since I would like to avoid going back to Tukwila for as long as possible I will probably wait quite some time to do this.

A huge weight is off my shoulders for now. I was pretty nervous for the interview and had spent quite a lot of time preparing documents and getting the paperwork ready. Sorry USA, I’m here to stay whether you like it or not! Muhahaha!

This entry was posted in Everything Else. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adrienne Audrey: Legal Alien

  1. New follower from Etsy! 🙂 Great blog!! 🙂

    Like

  2. hah! only at walmart!

    Like

  3. Welcome and thank you! Off to go check yours out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

