Homemade Eco Friendly Soft Scrub Cleaner

I have been doing a lot of posts on cleaning and organizing lately. Especially bathroom cleaning. I think I am going through that whole “nesting” phase of pregnancy where all you can think about is getting the house ready for the baby. With my belly getting bigger, my back is starting to hurt like crazy on a regular basis. Normally I take showers not baths but with all this back pain some tub time is definitely in order. Before I can relax in the tub I always have to give it a serious clean. Bathing in a tub that has not been scrubbed down to death gives me the creeps. I decided to try making a non bleach scrub for the tub to get rid of any scrum or cooties that lurk in there. I have to say this stuff works pretty great. Here is how you make it:

Ingredients
3% Hydrogen Peroxide
Baking Soda

When you buy hydrogen peroxide from the grocery store or pharmacy you are usually buying the 3% strength. This is the normal percentage for household use and first aid.
To make things even easier you can take a spray nozzle from a spray bottle and screw it right on the peroxide bottle.

Spray the hydrogen peroxide all over the shower and tub. Pour some baking soda into a bowl (about 1/2 cup to a cup will do) then slowly pour in the peroxide and mix it until you get a paste. Using gloves  smear the paste onto the tub walls and use a scrubber to really get off the grime. The hydrogen peroxide acts as a bleach and the baking soda is gritty so it can help scrape off the scum. Leave for about 10 minutes and then wash it off with hot water.  Simple and non toxic!

This entry was posted in cleaning, Home, Home Remedies. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homemade Eco Friendly Soft Scrub Cleaner

  1. pasqueflower says:

    i definitely need to try this.

    Like

  2. Debbie says:

    Am definitely going to give those gruesome looking bathroom wall a run for their money. Plus does this work for bathtubs and toilets seats too?

    Like

  3. I never run out of baking soda not because I love to bake but because it is really useful for cleaning stuffs around the house.

    Like

Leave a Reply

