How to Use Pinterest to Promote Your Blog or Online Shop

One of my top “clicked on” items on Pinterest


Did you know that one of the biggest sources of traffic for this blog and my jewelry shop Crafty Little Gnome is Pinterest?  It seems that after Google, Pinterest is my  biggest source of traffic for both websites. In fact, the first time I ever heard of Pinterest was several years ago when I saw it listed as one of my top reffering sites. I was getting loads of traffic from Pinterest without even trying! I spend a lot of time on Pinterest browsing for inspiration at home on my laptop and wasting time while I am at work through the iphone app. I bet a lot of you do too. Here are some of the way I use Pinterest to help market this blog as well as my jewelry shop Crafty Little Gnome.


Sign up for a Business Account
Make sure you sign up for a business account. This will give you access to your analytics and other useful information such as your most clicked pins and most recently pinned items. If you already have a personal account I suggest you still sign up for the business account. Yes, you do have to start from scratch getting more followers but the information provided in the analytics is really valuable. You can still keep the other board for personal use.

How to Get Followers

  • Gain followers of your boards by following others. I found that following other peoples boards is the simplest way to get more followers for myself. 
  •  If you are active on other social media sites make sure you post your Pinterest account there. Let others on your Facebook, Twitter or other sites know that you are on Pinterest. Ask them to follow you, provide the link and when they do follow you make sure to follow them back. 
  • You can go to the “Find Friends” tab and sync your Pinterest account with your Facebook and Twitter. This enables you to easily follow these friends. 
  • If you are hosting a giveaway or contest why not have one of the entry requirement be to follow you on Pinterest as well as your other social media sites? 
  • Add a link to your Pinterest account to the sidebar of your blog or website. People can easily click on it and go to your boards.
Group Boards
This is great for networking and helping get the most eyeballs to your pins. Accept invitations to group boards or start some of your own and be active on these boards. Only add content from your blog or shop if it is applicable. No spamming!


Pinning Your Content
  • Every time you write a new blog post or list a new item for sale Pin it to one of your boards. If you have been blogging for a long time and there is a lot of content you can add the “pin it” button to your browser and slowly go back to some of your earlier content and add those posts.
  • If you are selling online on places like Etsy make sure you pin your new listings as you add them. Go back and pin the ones you missed in your free time.
  • You should set up a couple boards specifically for your business, for example I have a board for Crafty Little Gnome Jewelry. This is where I post my new listings from my Etsy shop. I also have a board named Crafty Little Gnome Blog. This is where I post new blog posts. These are great to make sure you are getting all your content pinned but don’t be limited to these boards. You should post your content to any board that is applicable. For example. I can pin my Spring Bulb Planting Tips onto my blog board as well as my Gardening board, Front Yard Landscaping Board and Backyard Ideas board.  
 
 


Don’t just use Pinterest for Self Promotion
Make sure you re-pin other peoples content and follow their boards as well. This comes easily for me as I love browsing Pinterest for my own inspiration. If you have interesting boards with great posts others are more likely to follow you.

Link to your Pinterest Boards in your Blog Posts
On a recent blog I wrote about Spring cleaning I mentioned in the bottom of the post that I had more cleaning tips to check out in my Pinterest Cleaning board. This is an easy way to get people to follow specific boards.

These are just some of the ways I am using Pinterest to help promote my blog and my Etsy shop. How are you using Pinterest to help market yourself? Share your ideas in the comments! 

This entry was posted in Everything Else. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

