12 Week Fitness Challenge: Completed

Way back in February I started my 12 week fitness challenge. I took part in the Labrada Lean Body 12 Week Challenge. I am happy to report that I finally completed the challenge a couple weeks ago! Basically it was just a weight lifting program and nutrition plan. I followed it as best I could over the course of the 3 months and I have lost about 10 pounds of FAT! I am so proud of myself for following though with the program and not giving up.

It’s not easy making time for exercise when you have a job, a baby and a life but basically my fitness philosophy is this: There are 24 hours in a day. Do I really not have 1 hour out of those 24 to spend on exercise? It’s worth it for my health, mentally and physically. Sure there are days where I am absolutely exhausted and I take a break but as long as I spend at least 1 hour most days of the week exercising then I am satisfied.

I think the trick to making exercise a habit and integrating it into your daily life is to find something you really enjoy doing. If you like running or playing sports that’s great. I hate both of those things, but I do enjoy lifting weights and running sprints on the treadmill. You are not likely to find me out running marathons or riding my bike for 2 hours a day to work but I enjoy yoga, walking the dogs, resistance and strength exercises and light cardio. The key is to find something you enjoy and if you can find someone to do it with then you are even more likely to keep up with it.

I have read that when it comes to weight loss your success is determined 80% by nutrition and 20% by exercise. I find  this interesting and motivating because basically as long as I am eating healthy then I really don’t have to focus on exercise as much. How awesome is that? If you have a lot of weight to loose you don’t even have to spend hours in the gym. Just change your eating habits and you will have success. 

I have always had a love of carbs and sugar and I have changed my eating habits so I eat much less of both of those foods now. Here is what I eat on an average day

8 am Breakfast:
1/2 cup cooked oatmeal with chia seeds, cinnamon and stevia
1 hard boiled egg or egg white omelet
1 cup of coffee with low fat milk and stevia

 10:30 am Morning snack
1 cup Greek yogurt with 1 scoop of protein powder and 10 almonds

12:30pm Lunch
Turkey burger cooked on George Foreman grill (no bun) with 1 serving of veggies (usually broccoli) or salad

 3:30pm Late afternoon meal
1 serving of chicken with a side salad or apple

 6:30- 7:00 pm Dinner
One serving of meat ( chicken, turkey or fish) with 3 oz of sweet potato and a serving of veggies ( asparagus or Brussels sprouts)

10:00pm  After Dinner snack
Cottage cheese and a few nuts

I usually work out after work at night around 9pm. I will have a protein shake after I work out and then my after dinner snack if I am still hungry after that. 

I don’t count calories because I truly can’t be bothered. Ain’t nobody got time for that! I do try to make sure I don’t go crazy with huge portions though.

Basically I cut out most sugar and extra carbs and eat more protein. Combine that with exercise and it’s hard not to loose weight. I also don’t drink alcohol or sugary drinks.I try to drink a gallon of water everyday. I find I feel so much better when I am drinking enough water

Am I perfect? Hardly. I still love diet soda although I try not to drink too much of it and if there are chips in the cupboard I will sneak them sometimes. I’m human and I cannot resist chocolate when someone literally shoves it in front of me on my desk at work. It’s what you eat most of the time that counts. 

I also take the following supplements:
Fish oil
Multivitamin
Green tea extract
Vitamin D and Calcium 

About 10 months ago when my daughter was first born I had over 30 pounds of weight to loose and it was such a negative feeling not having the body that I used to have and feeling overweight and out of shape for the first time. I vowed that I would get back in my old jeans and loose the weight by the time Chloe was a year old. I did it and I am so proud of myself. I know that if I can do it you can too!

This entry was posted in 12 Week Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

