Attack of the Hornets

DSCN2890

I have been working on my backyard landscaping for some time now. Slowly (and I mean really,really, slowly) things are coming together. I have been trying to save money on plants so I have been purchasing what I can from the clearance section at Home Depot and Lowes. When I was working on the front yard garden I dug up some ferns that were growing naturally on our property and moved them over to my yard. I decided to try to save more money by digging up more ferns for the backyard.

On Friday evening, since I had a scheduled day off from work I went out the woods behind my in-laws house with a shovel, some bags and my sidekick Luna the yellow lab. I found a section of ferns a little off the beaten path and started digging up a couple of the plants. I started working on a third when I noticed some buzzing. Then really loud buzzing. I looked down and saw a swirl of hornets near my feet. I had dug into a hornets nest! Then I felt the stinging begin… The hornets flew right up the back of my shorts and started stinging me all over my bum! I dropped my shovel and started running out of the woods like a bat out of hell. Luna had been far enough away to escape the wrath of the hornets. We ran down the path towards home and I could feel the hornets continuing to sting me repeatedly while I ran. I dropped my pants a little and tried to get the hornets out of my shorts but it didn’t work. I have never run so fast in my entire life. I ran into the house, ripped off my clothes screaming and got in the shower. My husband came over to see what my fuss was about. “Bees!” I screamed. There were several hornets still alive in my clothing and were flying all over the bathroom. Rob swatted them to death and then got me some water and Benadryl.

I layed on my side on the couch for the rest of the night, an ice pack strapped to each butt cheek with an Ace bandage. So. Much. Pain. Thank goodness I am not allergic. Upon further inspection of my booty I realized that I had been stung nearly 20 times all over my bum and a couple on my shoulder. Not fun. Not even a little bit. On Saturday morning we were supposed to take part in the Bubble Run in Everett, about an hour drive away. So we woke up at the ass-crack of dawn (pun intended) and ran 5Km through a soapy foamy bubble pit in Everett. My butt was on fire and feeling terrible the entire time (I’m talking about chaffing, y’all) but I did it. And so I have learned my lesson, I will be buying the rest of my plants from the actual nursery. Now excuse me while I go get some fresh ice packs for my butt.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Attack of the Hornets

  1. KATE SARSFIELD says:

    You were really lucky it could have been so much worse (not tht that’s any consolation when you’re in pain). When my Dad was young he played rugby & once scored a try by diving for the line – straight through a hornet’s nest. He ended up in hospital for a week covered in stings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

