Saving Money with Energy Efficiency

ackitchen1

If I had a lot of money, I know I could spend it on our house in a very short amount of time. As much as I love decorating, I try to be conscious of how much I’m spending. We don’t have all the money in the world, and I’m sure you don’t either. When I’m making design decisions, I do try to think about how much it will cost and the ongoing expense. For example, if I don’t choose the right type of light, I might end up spending a lot on both electricity and bulbs. There are a few things I try to keep in mind when I think about our home, such as …

Energy-efficient Appliances

We don’t replace our appliances very often. Major items such as washing machines and refrigerators should last a good decade. And smaller things, like toasters, will usually go for a few years too. However, sometimes it’s time to update or even bring in something we’ve never owned before. If I want to get something new, style is obviously one of my primary considerations but I also check how energy-efficient something is before I buy it, especially if it’s something that we’ll be using a lot. You can see if appliances have Energy Star ratings, which shows you how efficient they are.

Change the Lights

I love putting in unusual lighting fixtures, instead of sticking with boring plain fixtures. It’s fun to see what sort of lights are available when you look beyond the standard. If you want to use light bulbs that will last longer, everyone says that LEDs are the way to go. They can help to lower your energy bills, and you don’t have to replace them as often. Plus, you can buy them in all sorts of colors, shapes and different “warmths”. I like exploring the different effects that light intensities and shades can have, plus it helps that I can save some money too.

craftroom

Consider Alternative Energy

Using another method of generating energy for your home isn’t really a design decision but it can affect the way that your house looks. For example,  solar panels make a huge statement about your commitment to sustainability while adding a pretty unique look to your home. If you want to use more eco-friendly energy supplies it can be easier if you have more land. On the farm, we have more options to put in things like heat pumps or even a wind turbine (we don’t have these right now but maybe one day). Some energy alternatives can be great design pieces too, like a wood burning stove.

Making Rooms Warm and Cool

One of the things that can get expensive is heating and cooling your home. Luckily, we can trick our minds into thinking the temperature is higher or lower. When I’m thinking about decorating the house, I always consider whether it will feel warm or cold. If I start off with a cool space, like my new studio, I know I can add some warm textiles in the winter to make it feel cozier. Soft knit blankets and furry pillows help too.

You can save money, be kind to the environment and express your style all at the same time. It just takes a little creativity. What ideas can you come up with?

This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saving Money with Energy Efficiency

  1. Pingback: Easy and Cheap Living Room Updates | Crafty Little Gnome

Leave a Reply

