Coconut Egg Nog

eggnog1

I have never been a huge egg nog fan, but my husband Rob loves it so I thought I would whip up a batch from scratch just for him. I put a new spin on this classic Christmas drink by using coconut milk! This is my first attempt at making egg nog. Normally my husband buys his egg nog at the grocery store. I was surprised how easy egg nog is to make.

Ingredients:

8 egg yolks

1 quart of whole milk

1 can of cocnut milk

3/4 cup of sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla

dash of nutmeg

 

Pour the milk and coconut milk into a saucepan on medium heat. Whisk in the eggs and the sugar. Let the mixture simmer and bring almost to a boil (but don’t let it boil).  Add the vanilla and nutmeg to taste.

Make sure the egg nog heats  to at least 160 degrees farenheit or use pasturized eggs for you are really concerned about food borne illness.

Allow the egg nog to cool and then chill in the fridge. Add booze if you wish. I don’t really drink so I made it alcohol free but I’m sure Rob will add a little rum. Egg Nog will last up to 5 days in the refrigerator.

eggnog2

Cheers!

This entry was posted in cooking, Happy Hour, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

