Antique insulator wind chime

  
I was browsing through Value Village the other day and came across some antique telephone insulators. I had seen these cool looking glass insulators used in all kinds of craft and garden projects on Pinterest. They were only a couple of bucks each, so I snapped them all up! 

For my first project I decided to make a sun catcher/windchime for my garden. I have a huge stash of beads and jewelry  chain so I thought this would be a good way to use up some of the supplies I know I will never use. I also have a huge stash of old keys that I bought on eBay several years ago. I purchased someone’s very old, large key collection for dirt cheap. In the collection there were a lot of antique skeleton keys, but there were also a lot of random rusted broken keys. Since I won’t be using the keys that are in poor condition for jewelry making I chose a couple of them to use for this project. 

  
If you want to attempt a similar windchime you just need some wire, beads, jewelry chain, pliers and wire cutters. You can get all of these supplies at the craft store. 

The other insulators I bought were larger and heavier so I’m not sure if I am going to make more windchimes or make something else like candle holders or other garden art. 

What do you suggest? Please share you ideas in the comments!

   
 

This entry was posted in DIY and Crafts, Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

